top of page
Search
  • Fellow Editors

Worcester Superintendent Rebukes Board Member For Questioning Budget

At the March 19, 2024 Worcester County BOE meeting, the new 2024-2025 school budget was on the agenda. Board member Katie Addis (District 6) expressed her concerns and asked questions about the budget. Lou Taylor, Superintendent of Schools lost his temper. Taylor rebuked Addis for questioning the budget and for frequently visiting the finance office to investigate budgetary spending concerns. Watch below:



At the February board meeting, other board members stated that they don't question the budget, because they trust administration. The video can be seen here. 


Taylor may be accustomed to having the rest of the board rubber stamp the budget, but there's finally a board member with due diligence to examine a 100+ million dollar budget for fiscal responsibility. "This is our job to do," Addis concluded.


As we head into the 2024 election, be sure to look for new board members that are fiscally responsible. The names highlighted in red are all seats that are up for reelection in 2024 and have new opponents running against them. Pay attention, and make your voice heard at the ballot box.


Todd A. Ferrante, President, District 7 - todd.ferrante@worcesterk12.org

William E. Buchanan, Vice President, District 1 - william.buchanan@worcesterk12.org

Donald C. Smack, Sr., District 2 - donald.smack@worcesterk12.org

Jon M. Andes, Ed.D., District 3 - jon.andes@worcesterk12.org

William L. Gordy, District 4 - william.gordy@worcesterk12.org

Elena J. McComas, District 5 - elena.mccomas@worcesterk12.org

Katie Addis, District 6 - katie.addis@worcesterk12.org


Fellows & Editors

March 20, 2024


Please consider supporting or signing up to the Delmarva Parent Teacher Coalition and follow us on facebook to stay informed of what's really happening with education in our schools.



893 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page